Things I Come Across…

Venice of The East : Old Town of Lijiang


We are  sitting in a house ( bar ) which was built in the  SONG DYNASTY ( 960 – 1279 ), Indian chicken curry and  Italian expresso was served; LADY GAGA music played in the background ! Many people claimed that Old Town of Lijiang in Yunnan Province, China is ‘ VENICE  of THE EAST‘ ! Maybe i can’t make a fair judgement since I have never been to Venice in Italy; however  this place  is THE VENICE Of The EAST  for me !  🙂 800 years old–Old Town Lijiang — UNESCO World Heritage town is one of the most romantic places I have ever been to in China. The cobblestone in the streets, clean water that runs through Old town and beautiful SONG DYNASTY architectures ; and of course the fascinating NAXI ( Nakhi ) ethnic cultures and traditions that still rule this touristic town.

Old Town Lijiang

Lijiang Old Town

Roast pig

Venice of the east

prayer tag

Prayer Tag : You can write your own or you can use the readymade and put it here

Old town Lijiang

An overview of Old Town of Lijiang

Old Town Lijiang

Old Town Lijiang

18 responses

  1. Another beautiful set…. China is a great and rich country with her history and culture. And through your photograph I learn a new things about China… I haven’t known this city, really seems The Venice of East… I saw Venice a few years ago, but not similar. But I know why you called like that. Even in Italy you can’t creat the same Venice too… People who live there put their colours, styles, souls, etc. This is typical Chinese Venice… Especially with these red lanterns… I imagine during night of all these photographs… How changes the ambience… Thank you, you are doing great job, it is so enjoyable to visit your blog, you almost take us into these photographs… Blessing and Happiness, with my love, nia

    August 26, 2011 at 3:13 am

    • Nia, I agree China has many things to offer to the world. Every place seems different and always surprising. Thanks very much for your encouraging words.

      September 10, 2011 at 5:00 pm

  2. Wow !! What a fantastic place. My dream destination. One day!!!

    August 25, 2011 at 6:17 pm

  3. mikibong

    Lovely pictures. Last month I got the chance to visit China, but I didn`t go to Li Jiang. This place looks beautiful! And the picture of the pig is gruesome haha.. 🙂

    August 20, 2011 at 6:41 am

    • Actually the pig tastes really good! 😀

      August 21, 2011 at 8:15 pm

  4. Beautiful images as always!

    July 8, 2011 at 11:58 pm

  5. Thomas

    Great photos and another beautiful destination I would love to visit some day.

    July 8, 2011 at 5:02 am

  6. Very interesting piece.

    July 7, 2011 at 11:47 pm

  7. alreadyasleep

    I love Yunnan. Will you go see XiShuangBanNa?

    July 7, 2011 at 8:35 pm

    • I have been to Xishuanbana in 2006. Beautiful place!

      July 10, 2011 at 6:44 pm

  8. Such a great photo journal/story. Thanks for sharing–what an interesting town.

    July 7, 2011 at 7:13 pm

  9. Beautiful photos. I like the roof-top view of Lijiang, nice composition! I guess we did not make it to the view point when we went there.

    July 7, 2011 at 7:09 pm

Leave a Reply

