Things I Come Across…

Ancient paper making preserved


Shiqiao is a small village in the Danzhai county in Guizhou Province, where traditional hand-made paper is still preserved. They make it by using tree barks. Throughout the centuries Miao people have made this special paper. But because of modern technology this kind of paper making is disappearing rapidly, only a handful of families continue this handmade paper making today.

Shiqiao Guizhou

Shiqiao Guzihou

Shiqiao Guizhou

Shiqiao Guizhou

Shiqiao Guizhou

Shiqiao Guizhou

Shiqiao Guizhou

Shiqiao Guizhou Miao

16 responses

  1. these are some great travel shots.

    September 10, 2011 at 9:23 pm

  2. Interesting process. Great shots.

    August 31, 2011 at 4:52 am

  3. ive been to so many places in china and want to see more. a months time is not enough for me. nice shots here!

    August 28, 2011 at 3:33 pm

  4. Wow! Another great series of photos. Are you from China?

    Lesley
    lesleycarter.wordpress.com

    August 26, 2011 at 5:47 am

    • Thanks. I am from Mizoram, India 🙂

      September 9, 2011 at 9:40 pm

  5. wow. that process is amazing and the journals are beautiful! i want every single one of them. it’s a sickness really… 🙂

    August 26, 2011 at 5:45 am

  6. These photographs are so beautiful. And always makes me so excited these handmade papers… What a difficult and great job. And I have some of them, my husband brought me from China a few years ago. But still I can’t write on them… Between writing and these handmade papers, as if there is a long way, like a wise walking way…. I don’t want to waste these papers… Maybe I think so philosophically but yes, I am impressed once again. Thank you for these beautiful photographs. With my love, nia

    August 26, 2011 at 3:02 am

    • Thank you very much, I am glad you like the photos. It sure is a difficult job making handmade papers, I agree.

      September 9, 2011 at 9:39 pm

  7. wow i love stuff like this, its great to see!
    tinkerbelle86.wordpress.com

    August 24, 2011 at 2:13 pm

  8. Lovely. I so enjoy coming accross fine hand made papers. Did you learn where they sell to? is it local? touristy? do they export?
    ~n

    August 23, 2011 at 11:26 pm

    • Sometimes they export it to different provinces in China, but not very often. It is local and attracts tourists.

      September 9, 2011 at 9:36 pm

  9. Very interesting pictures. I can’t wait to see this myself. Your pictures whetted my appetite. Thank you. I will follow your blog with pleasure.

    August 19, 2011 at 2:35 pm

    • Thanks. Yes, China has many things to offer.

      August 19, 2011 at 6:08 pm

Leave a Reply

