Things I Come Across…

Bullfighting Festival : Bull Vrs Bull


Bull fighting competitions are a part of the Miao ethnic minority culture in China. Normally bullfight competitions are held during the bull festival in the 25th day of the first lunar month. But it’s also common to hold bull fight competitions at different times throughout the year especially in surrounding villages in Kaili city in Qiandongnan prefecture in Guizhou.

I am sure you have heard or seen the Spanish ( Latin American ) bull-fight –tauromachia–corrida de torso : where one or more bulls are baited in a bullring for sports and entertainment. In which a matador will kill a bull by the end of the game.

But this Miao Bullfighting is very different. Its not a combat between man and a bull; it’s a bull and a bull fighting each other.

Bullfighting festival

Miao Bullfighting festival

Miao bulfighting festival

The crowd

Bullfighting Festival Miao Guizhou

Bullfighting festival Miao Guizhou

Bullfighting Festival Miao Guizhou

16 responses

  1. This is fantastic, John. You are really exploring the lesser known parts of China.

    November 22, 2011 at 9:05 am

  2. There are no women in these photos. Are they no allowed to watch?

    September 15, 2011 at 4:41 pm

  3. what an interesting event! Those bulls looks amazing!

    September 14, 2011 at 9:28 pm

  4. renfang77

    Wow!!!

    September 14, 2011 at 1:45 am

  5. beautiful photos, I had not heard about this type of bull fighting, thanks for sharing. You clicked a like button on one of my images – thanks visiting my blog, it gave me an opportunity to find your work, which is wonderful.

    August 29, 2011 at 7:10 pm

  6. Beautiful shots, I am amazed as you shared them with us.

    August 27, 2011 at 10:16 pm

  7. Great shots!

    It seems a little intense for me, but your photos are amazing.

    Lesley

    August 26, 2011 at 5:45 am

  8. This is actually what I can’t watch but to be honest, your photographs are amazing, and I am impressed so much. The event is not good for me, but your photographs great. Thank you John Fanai. And I love your photograph at the top of the page, it is one of my best among your photographs that I saw. And I remember you, with this photograph, John Fanai. Thank you, Have a nice day, with my love, nia

    August 26, 2011 at 2:55 am

  9. these are great! so intense.

    August 26, 2011 at 12:09 am

  10. John,
    Very interesting. I never knew about this type of bullfighting. Great photography!

    August 25, 2011 at 11:20 pm

  11. great photos, good to see a different sort of tradition from what we are used to

    August 24, 2011 at 2:12 pm

  12. 1baltic1bullet

    Powerfull stuff! Great picts!

    August 23, 2011 at 9:06 pm

  13. Okinawa has a simiilar tradition. These are great shots, as are the rest of the photos on your blog. All your photos have nice, rich colors and I really enjoyed them.

    August 22, 2011 at 6:50 am

  14. This is an excellent series of photos, I can feel the excitement in the air.

    August 20, 2011 at 4:45 pm

Leave a Reply

