Things I Come Across…

Another fake apple store in China ?


In the month of July, 2011 a fellow blogger ‘ BirdAbroad’ posted some pictures of an apple store in Kunming Yunnan province, China. Which turn out to be a fake apple store ! Her blog post was mentioned in different international news. I am sure you follow that news.

Last Sunday ( 25.September.2011 ) I walk passed an ‘ apple store’ in Kaili, Guizhou Province, China. Kaili is a very small city in Guizhou province. It’s a prefecture of Miao and Dong. According to wikipedia : Kaili has a population of only 50,000 . That’s a very small population for a city in China. As I saw this ‘apple store’, I remember reading on a blog ( BirdAbroad ) ” Apple never writes “Apple Store” on it’s signs – it just puts up the glowing, iconic fruit.”  But this ‘apple store’ had written SMART STORE besides the apple sign. As I walked in, i saw ipad, iphones, Macbook, Macbook Pro but I did not see MacBook Air. And there was plenty of  apple accessories. All the workers were wearing blue t-shirts. I wonder if this is just another fake apple store in China !

fake apple storeThe entrance of the store

fake apple store chinaInside the store

fake apple store chinaI was hesitate to take an obvious photo!

Fake apple storeThis is taken from the opposite store

Kaili Guizhou

A street of Kaili Guizhou China

7 responses

  1. whooza! didn’t even know these existed!

    November 27, 2012 at 11:42 pm

  2. I believe the only reason it’s easy for these guys to set up fake stores and sell fake/real apple product is simply because most things are from China . They know have access to the products like we do to oxygen.

    August 15, 2012 at 11:23 pm

  3. Wow, this is amazing! Thanks for posting.

    November 2, 2011 at 6:10 pm

  4. Jason Lu

    Aha! I bet you are suffering from “culture shock”,eh?
    Counterfeit Apple Stores, pirate DVDs, knockoff brands, you name it… We’ve got it all for you here in China.
    Besides the legal issues, it doesn’t seem like anyone care about whether the product is genuine or not.
    It’s all about the feeling of supremacy and personal status show-offs.

    A point of advice to you,nia!
    Don’t be shocked or disappointed while you are still in China.
    Let’s look at the bright side of “weird phenomenon”.
    Did you see how happy they are? The smile on their faces? (^_^)_Y

    Gosh, I’m so lucky to be able to live my life aboard.
    My life experience aboard broadened my horizons.

    PEACE!

    October 18, 2011 at 8:50 pm

  5. http://photographyofnia.wordpress.com/2011/09/30/seven-links-seven-post-and-seven-blogs/
    You will be always in my favurite blog list dear John Fanai. So you have been in my list again 🙂 You can see my latest post for the details to your next mission. Thank you, Blessing and Happiness, with my love, nia

    September 30, 2011 at 3:59 pm

  6. This is unbelievable, isn’t it? I am glad they didn’t notice that you take pictures… Thank you, with my love, nia

    September 28, 2011 at 9:46 pm

Leave a Reply

